Does third party networking really work?

I have to wholeheartedly say “yes” in response to the question “Does third party networking really work?”

For me, and for many others I know, this marketing activity really works. Here is my story. Some of you may have heard this before, but it is worth repeating as it is very powerful. I have been networking for a few years now and have met some great clients, suppliers and colleagues whilst I have been at the various events. I have also been very keen and conscientious to follow up with these new contacts and leads once we have all left the event.

But what about third party networking?
By this I mean can contacts at an event introduce you to worthy leads and contacts of theirs who are not present? Yes! I was networking and came across someone who I had seen before who was in the printing industry. I am always looking for new suppliers and deals so I gave him a printing job. The printer then introduced me a contact of his whom I had a meeting with. Nothing came of this meeting but he introduced me to a local web based company. I have sinced worked with this web company and hope to get more work. In addition, the web company introduced me to another much larger company looking for marketing consultancy.

I have been working for this client now for over 8 months now, so YES it really works. I have now met 4 new contacts one of whom is a supplier and two whom are now clients, so it really is all about who you know and who they know. So, next time you are networking and don’t feel an immediate connection or link with someone, hang in there and do some digging as you never know who they know!

Why don’t you share you story with us?
Happy networking ….

About nicolepinpointmarketing

I am the owner of a successful marketing consultancy business, established in 2008 to work with, help and support local businesses. Pinpoint wants to advise small businesses on how to best market their products and services, using minimum budget, but making maximum impact!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

